2 Minute Rule

In an effort to find balance in my every day life I have learned quite a few things. I have learned that I do my best work when I am surrounded by a clean and organized space. I know that my greatest energy comes in the early mornings. I have figured out that I absorb other people’s emotions and that it’s important to guard my mind. But one of the things that has completely altered my daily routine is this little thing called the 2 minute rule.

Given that we are only allotted 24 hours each day, it’s extremely easy to find yourself with less time than you think is necessary to complete all of the things you want to do! Amongst other things that I will post about later (prioritization, being organized, being deliberate), time management has been key for me to find balance. It might sound a little weird but I seriously feel so good when I come home to a clean house. A clean room. My bed made, zero clutter, and everything where it should be. In a perfect world my room and workspace would always be that way but let’s be honest….stuff happens. I have learned that I actually do have time to clean up clutter whereas before I was in a constant state of frenzy and would always put it on the back burner.

I’ve recently learned to ask myself “will this take 2 minutes or less?”. If the answer is yes, then I go ahead and complete it! It’s amazing what you can get done in 2 minutes. I’ve found that I can fold quite a bit of laundry in 2 minutes. I can put away quite a few dishes in 2 minutes. I can make my bed in 2 minutes and pick up clothes off my floor in 2 minutes. I can text and/or call a client in 2 minutes. I can shoot off a couple of emails in 2 minutes. But if I let them all pile up….it’s going to be hours of work that I end up doing on my days off! Days that I would like to spend with friends and family and working on things that I love!

The 2 minute rule has seriously been life changing for me. It’s silly, really. That something so simple could be so influential. But when I come home and sit down at a work space that is clean and organized I find that I’m excited to write and I’m excited to plan for all of the future projects I have bouncing around in my head!

I encourage you to give it a try this week! Before you overwhelm yourself and run out the door, take 2 minutes to do something you would have otherwise left for later. And see how it transforms your routine :)

xo Jacquelyn

2 thoughts on “2 Minute Rule

  1. joelle says:

    this helped me so much! I work three days a week and the two during the week are strictly for studying! I always get so side tracked with housework when I should be studying! I am definitely going to start incorporating this into my days! thanks girl!

    • Jacquelyn says:

      You’re so welcome! Self discipline is the hardest thing ever lol. I know what you’re studying is difficult but think of how great it will be when it’s all accomplished! Glad I could help :)

Leave a Reply

