My Favorite 11 Letter Word

Good morning guys! Happy Monday! :)

So here’s a quick little story for you. I remember back around the time when I was graduating high school, at the last minute I decided to go to our Baccalaureate ceremony. Right before the ceremony, I was asked to be one of the students who went up on stage and read a randomly selected inspirational quote to our graduating class.

The quote that I randomly selected was:

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act – but a habit.” – Aristotle.

If you’ve known me since then, or been friends with me on facebook since then, you’ve probably noticed (and been annoyed) that I constantly refer back to this quote. It changed the very nature of the way I looked at my goals and my dreams and it has impacted me in a very positive way.

I think I have recently undergone a lot of change in my life – for the better. I won’t go into anything too lengthy on here but I know for a fact that I am enjoying my life so much more and reaching goals that I have once struggled with in the past.

So to get to the point…my favorite 11 letter word? Consistency.

This has become my absolute favorite word lately because it has such a powerful ability to cause change in our life. A lot of times we look at the word consistency and associate it with things like diet and exercise (I do, too, obviously…considering my job haha). But think for a moment about things we consistently do on a daily basis!

I consistently brush my teeth ( I bet you were dying to know that)

I consistently prep my meals on Sundays.

I consistently devote time to my workouts.

I consistently devote time to my family.

I consistently devote time to reading enlightening books.

You get the point.

Aristotle said that we are what we repeatedly do. It makes complete sense.

If I repeatedly allow my surroundings to influence me negatively, I will constantly be in a bad mood.

If I repeatedly skip the gym, I’ll create a life that is no longer centered around my health.

If I constantly skip church, I’ll stray away from my spiritual values.

If I constantly neglect my friendships, I’ll find myself alone.

Consistency is the very essence of who we are. But the cool thing is that we can create new consistencies. We can create new habits that bring about positive change in our lives.

I encourage you to make a list of things that you consistently do. Start with all of the obvious ones (eating, showering, etc). Then go into the not so obvious ones – do you have a habit of talking down to yourself? Do you have a habit of complaining? Do you have a habit of cutting corners at work? Do you have a habit of watching T.V.? Can you change those habits into more productive “consistencies”?

xo Jacquelyn

One thought on “My Favorite 11 Letter Word

Leave a Reply

